Chester A. Reynolds Awards

In 1990, the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum (formerly National Cowboy Hall of Fame and Western Heritage Center) established the Chester A. Reynolds Award, named in honor of the founder of the Museum. This special award does not include an induction into one of the Museum's three Halls of Fame.

Criteria for Nomination

The Chester A. Reynolds Award is presented to a living honoree or group that has notably perpetuated the legacy of the American West through one or a combination of the following.

  • Dedicated to or promotion of the ideals of individualism, honesty, humility and integrity that are closely identified with the American West
  • A distinguished life's work as a rancher, cowboy, or ranch hand
  • Leadership within professions or businesses that define themselves through their strong connection with the American West
The Award seeks to recognize individuals or groups who have demonstrated, through a single remarkable achievement or body of quality of work over a period of years, unwavering commitment to Western ideals and values.

Name Vital Information Year Awarded
Cates, Jerry 1938-2011 2012, TX
Cator, Marshall 1902-2002 2000, TX
Council, Howard 1926-2014 2011, OK
Davies, Donn D. 1916-2005 1992, NM
Donaldson, John W. 1920- 2003, AZ
Dorrance, Tom 1910-2003 1995, CA
Edwards , Don 1939- 2010, TX
Fliegar, Jo Curtis 1901- 1993, AZ
Gentry, Denny 1952- 2002, AZ
Haythorn, Waldo Paul 1917-2002 1996, NE
Jarrard, Harold 1919- 1997, WY
King, Don 1923- 1991, WY
Logsdon, Guy William 1934- 2006, OK
Marrs, Bob 1927- 2001, TX
Martin, George E. 1994, AR
Martin, William Harding, Jr. 1925- 1990, AZ
McSpadden, Clem 1925-2008 2008, OK
O’Neal, Boots 1932- 2013, TX
Peek, Ellington 1928- 2007, CA
Price, Byron B. 1948- 2014, OK
Reeves, Constance Douglas 1901-2003 1998, TX
Ryan, Nolan 1947- 2009, TX
Stadtler, Philip Norman 1920- 2004, CA
Stevenson, Mollie Taylor Jr. 1945- 2005, TX
Trumble, Edward P. 1924- 1999, CO